Founders | INPEACE


Our Founders have an extensive history of working in the education field in Native Hawaiian communities.

Dr. Alice J. Kawakami, Dr. Kathryn H. Au,
and Sherlyn Franklin Goo, M.Ed. founded INPEACE in 1994.

The three founders have an extensive history working with Native Hawaiian children and issues influencing their educational achievement. These influences include culturally appropriate teaching methodologies and the holistic well-being of Native Hawaiian children and their families.


Dr. Alice Junco Kawakami
Founding Board Member

      Dr. Alice Junco Kawakami is a retired professor of education and the former director of the Hawaiʻi Institute for Educational Partnerships at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa.

      Dr. Kawakami was named the 2005 Kamehameha Schools Native Hawaiian Educator of the Year, and was awarded a travel grant from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation to present ongoing research on indigenous perspectives on educational research and evaluation. Dr. Kawakami’s work has been published in more than a dozen journals and books. Read more

Dr. Kathryn H. Au
Founding Board Member

      Dr. Kathryn Au has served on the INPEACE board of directors since the organization’s inception. She is chief executive officer of SchoolRise, LLC, and the first person to hold an endowed chair in education at the University of Hawaiʻi. A member of the Reading Hall of Fame, Dr. Au served on the board of directors of the International Reading Association (IRA) from 1998–2001 and served as president from 2009–2010. Her latest book is titled Multicultural Issues and Literacy Achievement (Erlbaum, 2006).

      Dr. Au has served as president of the National Reading Conference (NRC) and Vice President of the American Educational Research Association (AERA). She received the very first National Scholar Award presented by the National Association for Asian and Pacific American Education and the Oscar Causey Award for outstanding contributions to reading research presented by the NRC. Read more

Sherlyn Franklin Goo, M. Ed.
Founding Board Member

      Sherlyn Goo served as both executive director and chairman of the board when INPEACE began. Under her leadership, INPEACE has emerged from a grassroots community-based organization into a force that serves thousands of Native Hawaiians in their communities.

      Ms. Goo has been honored with two prestigious awards: the Ke Kukui Mālamalama Award, an honor of excellence in Hawaiian education by the Office of Hawaiian Affairs and the University of Hawaiʻi – Mānoa College of Education’s Recognition Dinner to celebrate Partnerships in Education, a special recognition of INPEACE’s Ka Lama O Ke Kaiaulu Teacher Initiatives on the Leeward Coast. Read more